All you need to know about our championships !

Announcement: The updated 2024 championship races are available here

Championship Tables 2024 Summary

Last update : 30 May 2024

First Past The Post

Age Adjusted

2024 Results / Race Info


Race Date First Past The Post Age  Adjusted
Captain Cook's Fell Race 1.1.2024 Womens FPTP Mens FPTP Womens AA Mens AA
Ormesby Hall XC 7.1.2024 Womens FPTP Mens FPTP Womens AA Mens AA
Parkrun Thorp Perrow 10.2.2024 Womens FPTP Mens FPTP Womens AA Mens AA
Hooded Horse 10k 14.4.2024 Womens FPTP Mens FPTP Womens AA Mens AA
Spring Coast Road 5k 24.4.2024 Womens FPTP Mens FPTP Womens AA Mens AA
Melmerby 10k 5.5.2024 Womens FPTP Mens FPTP Womens AA Mens AA
Drovers' Road Virtual 23-26.5.2024 Womens FPTP Mens FPTP Womens AA Mens AA
HDSRL Nidd Valley 4.6.2024
HDSRL Thirsk & Sowerby  19.6.2024
HDSRL Otley AC (Handicap) 17.7.2024
James Herriot Trail Race 28.7.2024
Sessay Swift 6k 14.8.2024
Virtual Mountain Race 22-25.8.2024
BeckBusters 10k 29.9.2024
Acklam Grange XC October 2024
Gormire Gamble Fell Race 20.10.2024
Virtual XC November 2024
Summerhill XC December 2024


Rules 2024


For 2024, there will be male and female championship awards for both Age Adjusted (AA) and First Past the Post (FPTP) categories.

This is open to all active club members. It is automatically calculated free of charge (excluding race entry fee) providing they fulfil the following criteria:

  • Runners have completed any 10 races of the selected 18 club championship races for the year.
  • Club runners must wear T&SH vests/shirts whilst participating in these events and,
  • They must fill T&SH on any race entry forms/documents where prompted.
  • Members are considered as active provided they have signed and paid for their 2024 membership. Memberships can be signed and paid here.


Points are awarded to club members completing each race based on their finishing position (First Past the Post category) and their overall time (Age Adjusted category) against all other club members.

The Age Adjusted category is calculated by combining a runner’s finishing time with the most recent World Masters Athletics (WMA) Age Factor, to produce an age-adjusted time. This provides a way of measuring and comparing the quality of running performances, adjusting for age, sex, and race distance. It’s the same system used by Parkrun etc.

Points are awarded on completion of a race to every club member, with maximum points of 100 awarded to 1st position, 98 for 2nd, 96 for 3rd and so on down to 50 for 26th place, where it then reduces by single points as 49 for 27th, 48 for 28th and so on, in each category.

If a race is postponed or cancelled Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers committee will make a decision regarding a substitute race as soon as possible, taking into account relevant factors such as date clashes, terrain etc.

Please note that, for races that have chip timing in place, your championship race time will be recorded as the “gun time” (time from the gun to finish line) rather than “chip time” (time from start line to finish line). This ensures we rank everyone by their finish order across the line. However don’t despair, you won’t miss out on a PB, because your race time recorded by Run Britain / Power of 10 (for personal performance tracking purposes) will be based on your chip time (this is to ensure that mass start events allow for time to cross the start line).


There will be awards for positions 1, 2 & 3 in both AA and FPTP categories and for both male and female members.

Should a member place well in both AA and FPTP categories, only the highest position will be awarded (e.g. if they are 1st FPTP and 3rd AA, 1st prize FPTP will be awarded) with their lower position then awarded to the next best placed member in that category.

Should the position be the same for both Categories, AA and its award will take priority (e.g. 2nd and 2nd) with the FPTP position passing on to the next qualified member.

Should two club members finish with the same points total in a category based on their 10 best results, the position will then be awarded to the member with the highest total points score from all 18 championship races.

Should any club members complete all 18 races of the club championship, this achievement and consistent club representation will be recognised at the annual awards evening.

Past Championships

2023 Results