Sunday dawned fine at the weekend making for almost ideal conditions for those running the Thirsk 10 on Sunday.  Snow and ice during the previous few days had given cause for worry, but all went well under the leadership of Helen Ashworth and her team.  Members and friends turned out in force to help with marshalling the event as well as the 16 members who actually ran the race.  The Wheelchair Race set off proceedings, with Callum Hall 1st in a record 39.39, Tiaan Bosch 2nd in 45.07 and Matthew Clarke 3rd in 47.11.  Tanni Grey was in attendance supporting another athlete.

   The main race was won by Graham Rush of Leeds City AC who ran in a course record time of 49.04, with 2nd and 3rd placed runners also beating the previous record – the new carbon fibre soles, of which there were many in evidence, probably helped.  
Graham Rush of Leeds City AC, winner of Thirsk 10 in record time
Liam Aldridge of Billingham Marsh House was 2nd in 49.50 and Joe Sagar of Spenborough and District AC.  The winner of the women's race was Faye Birkby  of Pudsey Pacers RC in 1.00.25 with 2nd Ruth Cole of Saltaire Striders in 1.03.02 and 3rd Lucy Lavender of New Marske Harriers in 1.03.28.  
First lady at Thirsk 10, Faye Birkby of Pudsey Racers RC
Faye Birkby.JPG
Runners came from all over the north and the race is popular as it's flat and enables many runners to get a PB time, and road races are fewer in number these days!  Lots of fine compliments and thanks were passed on to members afterwards,which is always good to hear as putting on a race requires lots of organisation.

  New members were in the fore as far as Thirsk and Sowerby Harriers were concerned, with one of them, Matthew Colley coming in a superb 31st out of 749 in 57.58, Clare Rowntree came 243rd in 1.12.59 and Laura Heslehurst 274th in 1.15.08.  Pedro Carrasco took 1.19.29, Paul Bradford 1.20.42, closely followed by David Tervit, 1.20.46, then Kirsty Naylor 1.21.05, Adrian Elsworth 1.21.11, Andy Newing 1.22.12, Clare Tempest 1.27.33, Beth Haggath, a first time 10 miler,1.38.51, Will Jagger 1.39.25, Tim Waistell 1.39.25, another first timer, Craig Atherton, 1.45.10, Louise McVay 1.47.04, and Siobhan Woodland – a regular at this event – 2.01.45.
First club finisher, new member, Matthew Colley
Matthew Colley.jpg
 Richmond and Zetland's Rob Scott, Jake Stepehenson, Carl Jones and Steve Middleton  won the Men's Team Prize and New Marske Harriers' Kay Neesam, Sharon Bulman, Patricia Speedie and Dawn Sulley the Ladies' prize.
  Paul and Sarah Goacher organised the Fun Run for children, and for any adults who didn't wish to run 10 miles, and yet again, another happy event!
Fun runners at Thirsk before the Thirsk 10
fun runners.jpg
  An Indian banquet at Jaipur Spice  rounded off the day perfectly, with members thanked, and especially Phillip Craig, who once again made a fine job of organising marshals for the race.
  A clash of dates meant some of our Vet runners went off to Beverley for the Yorks Vets Cross Country Championships on a mild day with some strong winds.  The course was twisty and undulating with some sharp climbs – and mud – with the ladies doing 5k and the men 10k.  Margaret Wikeley got a silver medal in her age-group helping the team of herself, Christine Burn and Maureen Worley win the Ladies Team Silver.  An excellent effort.  
Margaret Wikeley tackles the mud at the Yorkshire Vets Cross Country Championships
Margaret Wikeley.jpg
  Paul Peacock won Bronze in his event and Rob Burn came 5th, Alan Wikeley 9th, in their respective age groups.  When final results were tallied, the team came 16th out of 24 in the table, a very creditable outcome.
yorks vets.jpg
Members at the Yorkshire Vets event at Beverley on Sunday, Rob Burn, Paul Peacock, Christine Burn, Maureen Worley, Margaret Wikeley and Alan Wikeley